My Favorite Thing About Living in the United States

I know I tend to be a party pooper when it comes to patriotism. The United States, in the end, isn’t always the “land that I love.” I wouldn’t die for my country (even though I appreciate those who have). I even tend to enjoy the Independence Day celebrations of other countries over the 4th of July. However, as I watched the fireworks in downtown Grand Rapids, I was reminded of a beautiful thing about the good ole’ US of A: it is filled withe people from a myriad of races, nationalities, and languages. I love celebrating Independence Day surrounded by people speaking Vietnamese, Spanish, and Arabic. All I have to do is look out my window to see people who come from a background very different from my own. With all of these cultures meeting in one place, it makes me glad that God placed me here. Isn’t God amazing?

Leave a comment